Party Ben makes out with Tegan and Sara

Tegan and Sara have a new single out on 25 September. A bit less lo-fi than their early stuff and a bit more rocky Avril Lavigne (and that’s not a criticism). As D will confirm, I have – as she puts it – a weakness for wailing women. I do like this single.

But it did remind me that I ought to post the magisterial bootleg from Party Ben which mixed Tegan and Sara with Mylo to produce Walking with a ghost in Paris from 2006. This is one of my absolute favourite bootlegs.

http://partyben.com/downloads

Blurb: “Sara calls CLOSER my ‘let’s get it on’ track” Tegan explains to Rolling Stone. “And although I do imagine that this would be an okay song to make out to, all I intended was to write something sweet that reminded the listener of a time before sex, complicated relationships, drama and heart break. In short, I was writing about my youth. A time when we got CLOSER by linking arms and walking down our school hallway or talked all night on the telephone about every thought or experience we’d ever had. It wasn’t necessarily even about hooking up or admitting your feelings back then. In fact THAT rarely happened. It was the anticipation of something MAYBE happening that was truly exciting and satisfying. We were perpetually getting CLOSER, yet we rarely got physical with one another, if ever. These relationships existed in a state of sexual and physical ambiguity. Is there anything more romantic than that?”

 

~ by acidted on September 21, 2012.

2 Responses to “Party Ben makes out with Tegan and Sara”

  1. All this needs is some synth to really make my day….

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,567 other followers

