si jeunesse savait, si vieillesse pouvait

excursions

A French saying which translates (roughly) as “If (only) youth knew; if (only) old age could“. More famously, “Youth is wasted on the young“, which is variously attributed to Oscar Wilde or George Bernard Shaw. I was reminded of this quote by Celadon City’s statement “My youth is what I hold onto very dearly…” Is youth all it’s cracked up to be, or is that the cavils of an old man? Whichever, Excursions, the result of a summer travelling in Central Europe is a lovely collection of soft electronic house tunes. Name your price download.

The Seven Week Aura offers a gentle way in, with piano of tinkling beauty and bass profundity set against bird song and off kilter beats. It finally offers a hymn to the joy of being alive. Amsterdam is a warped, glitched tune, full of children playing. Let’s Be Friends, If That’s Okay takes handclaps, piano and blooping synths into a melange of awkwardness. Finding Forests offers the pitter patter of rain, breaths, more piano and a big drum for the most leftfield and introverted thing here. This offers more on repeated listens – it’s a deeply woven tune. Finally, Terminals, offers the relief of return and a little solace.

Download:

Blurb: “Excursions” began before I went to travel throughout Central Europe for the summer. I wanted to revamp and also evolve my moniker into something more along the lines of what represented me. My youth is what I hold onto very dearly and I drew a lot of influence from shows from Cartoon Network. Europe ended being a lot of these memorable short moments, much like how excursions are. So manifesting the dreams and the stories helped me create something that reflects the face of today’s nostalgia and a thirst for adventure.I would like to thank all my friends and family for this exciting journey. I will never forget the adventures.

~ by acidted on September 26, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
