Taste of South Africa

milk-tart

Two and a half years now since I had a month in South Africa. Fond memories stirred by Andy Islands from Cape Town who says “I make spaced out dance music inspired by South African house.” That’s a fair description. This is warm, sunny, enveloping house music with a little jit influence and an ambient stance. Hardly surprising when he claims James Holden, Dan Snaith, Kieran Hebden, James Murphy, Brian Eno as musical heroes.

Asked about hopes and dreams he offers “I would like as many people as possible to listen to and enjoy my music and I would really like to eat a pizza tonight.” Dunno about the pizza but do use the bandcamp link to download the Andy Islands 1 EP.

I asked for a recipe and got “I’ve never made this before but milk tarts are the most amazing food ever. Everyone seriously needs to try this“:

http://www.justeasyrecipes.co.za/2009/08/27/milk-tart/

So I did. Mine doesn’t look like the one at the top of this post. In part because I only had brown sugar and also because I’ve never made sweet pastry before and the sides didn’t hold up. Anyhow, my cowpat effort was this…

milktart

~ by acidted on November 7, 2014.

2 Responses to “Taste of South Africa”

  1. I can’t believe that was 2 and a half years ago.

  2. […] parameters for this new four track offering from Andy Islands are house and synths. And glittering […]

Leave a Reply

 
