Tracks of my year

coastal trees

I know. I know. Retrospectivity isn’t the way to start a new year. But hey. Here are my three favourite tracks of 2014 and my favourite comp. That they are all downtempo does rather say something about what sort of a year it was.

Tracks first. In no particular order, they were Setsuko by Irregular Expression, Friend by 0 Square and Thumbtacks by Marshall Watson.

The comp of the year was also downtempo. From Compost came the rubbish-entitled Slouse. I said “It’s one of those comps that’s more than the sum of the parts and few can manage that trick. Hardly surprising that it’s compiled by Rainer Trueby, who knows a thing or two about what makes a good downtempo tune.

One of the things that takes it a cut above the mass of comps is the way that it establishes an overall chilled mood whilst taking tracks that come out of different genres – R&B, slow house, techno and IDM. The artists range from Ron Deacon, Maurice Fulton and Christian Prommer. The best of horizontal house.”

 

~ by acidted on January 1, 2015.

3 Responses to “Tracks of my year”

  1. all the best to you and yours for 2015 Ctel.

  2. Yup, from me too. Hope 2015 is a bit better for you

  3. Good Call on the Compost Comp, I have played that to death this year, a really well put together tracklist of lovely temp stuff, I think Compost is one of those underated labels that likes to punch above its weight. Happy New year – keep up the class work.

Leave a Reply

 
