Strange​-​eyed Constellations

nature1

Who’d a thought it would take Toby Marks (Banco de Gaia) over 20 years to do a comp. But it has. Strange-eyed Constellations is his first. It is a lovely downtempo gem that consciously aims for the Ambient Dub comp series of the early 90s. It has contributions from Astropilot, 100th Monkey and Toby Marks himself.

Blurb: In 1992 I saw my first tracks released on CD as part of the ‘Ambient Dub’ compilation series on Beyond Records. Six years later, when I set up my own label, one of my aims was to start a similar series of down-tempo, left of centre, compilation albums, featuring more or less anything that I found beautiful and uplifting, irrespective of genre (although leaning heavily towards the electronic).

Finally, 17 years later, I have found the time to make it a reality and so I present the first collection to you now.

I would like to dedicate this album to Beyond Records’ founder Mike Barnet in thanks for the opportunity he gave me and for championing less well-known music.

As Mike would say, “Last one out turns the lights off.”

(Toby Marks)

releases 04 September 2015

~ by acidted on August 25, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
