dreamy psychedelic warmth

image

Sky Vettel is a great name for a group. But it turns out to be a woman from New York. Her track Dreamz is, despite the irritating spelling, a perfect piece of ambient psychedelia. It’s a track which starts with a slow spiral of psychedelic synth reminiscent of guitar before becoming full of swirls and haze.

I thought we might find out more, including her favourite sandwich:

Tell us a bit about yourself

I’m a native New Yorker. My sister introduced me to a ton of amazing things, from Blur to DJ Shadow to Scott Walker, (she also introduced me to the films of Francois Truffaut, but that’s not music obviously), and I introduced her to being able to appreciate Pink Floyd. I pinpoint discovering Pink Floyd on my own to my progressively insatiable desire to want to create experimental music myself. Luckily, I was able to manifest that while taking classes during and after I graduated high school for music production. During that time I heard a track from Brian Eno’s pre-ambient, post-Roxy Music days (“The True Wheel” , on Taking Tiger Mountain By Strategy) and everything literally stopped for me, I was instantly impressed, and I had to pursue finding out more about him/his music.

Influences?

Let’s see… artists/bands I am super into, may or may not be inspired by… Joy Division, New Order, Kraftwerk, of course The Beatles, Gorillaz and pretty much anything Damon Albarn does, 70’s glam rock, dub music YES, Talking Heads, no pretence here at all, but I love Victorian wax cylinder recordings as well as gospel/choir music (notably the Missa Luba from 1965, infamously appeared in the movie “If”).

I am an unashamed lover of disco & house, (maybe also important to note, is Daft Punk’s “Homework” was ground breaking for me). I am very influenced by anything electronic with quirky eccentric bits. I miss 90’s hip hop, back when they had real messages and was less superficial, and it relied more on actual talent and hard working producers.

Lots of European influences there. Which US electronic artists do you rate?

Now that got me thinking. Hmm. absolutely have to give credit to 90’s and 2000’s American house DJ pioneers (David Morales, Erick Morillo, the list goes on), DJ Shadow’s “Entroducing…” was massive for me.. Danger Mouse.. (he doesn’t really qualify for electronic but whatever), William Basinski’s “Disintegration Loops” makes me stop what I’m doing and fully appreciate every moment we have. Incredible story behind that record. I also love Lusine. Beautiful textures and varied atmospheres for varied moods.

Thanks to listening to Groove Armada’s BBC1 Essential Mix I was introduced to Chris Malinchak, via “Razor”, LOVE that song. I like his music a lot. Also, I had to throw in because they were *incredibly* groundbreaking for me at a very impressionable 10 years old – the artists featured in the (first) Jet Grind Radio game.

And the all important favourite sandwich question

My favorite sandwich is Swiss cheese, Ranch dressing, with some super greens thrown in there for good measure.🙂

So, classic with a healthy twist. It’s New York I guess. Back to Dreamz. The opener has a bit of that Floyd-esque guitar spiral before more ambient electronic tones come along. Instead of expanding, it remains close at hand and intimate. A proper solo mood piece.

Blurb: Native New Yorker (Bronx) is drawn to danceable, hard stomping disco house, or atmospheric, euphoric soundscapes to reflect to.. misses old hip hop music when they told stories and used “big words”, loves 70’s glam rock and Madonna at her least pretentious and most danceable, gravitates to lo-fi, static filled analog sounds of Suicide and Gary Numan and Kraftwerk, avid lover of disco and house music. Is very much a feeling musician in the sense she wants people to go deeper when listening to her stuff, and creates ambient music intending her listeners to feel what she feels while recording.

~ by acidted on August 17, 2016.

3 Responses to “dreamy psychedelic warmth”

  1. Wow. I’m blown away by this. Would love to play it on a loop. Great sound.

  2. Glad I stumbled across this one. I will have to check out more of her music – that combination of influences is intriguing!

  3. […] time Sky was here with a quick interview was back in August. Her new album arrives almost unannounced. Ballet is the opening track. And a […]

Leave a Reply

 
