D WRITES ON…THEATRE (LAWNMOWER DETH)

In which D goes to the theatre and you get a death metal cover version of the Kim Wilde classic “Kids In America”. Really.

July 94: “Last night, I ventured down to the National Theatre to see ‘Sweet Bird of Youth’. It’s the first play by Tennessee Williams I’ve seen. I found it adequately entertaining, though the subject matter was a trifle grim. However, there were a couple of let downs. The first was the guy that played the fat, Southern, racist boss and who, during the whole of his appearance, sprayed the rest of the most unfortunate cast liberally with spit. I kid you not. It was so gross that, not only were members of the audience having trouble stifling their collective sniggering but I found it so offensive that whenever he was in a scene I closed my eyes and just listened to the dialogue. Why on earth no-one has said anything to this chap is beyond me because if I was a cast member I’d not only be outraged but drenched at the end of every performance. The other minor hiccup was the actress who played the lead character’s love interest was unbelievably awful. Her acting, and I use the term loosely, was so stilted and completely devoid of the passion that her scenes required that I wondered if she was enduring a particularly bad bout of constipation.”

And so to 80s fave, Kids In America, which seemed appropriate in the circumstances. One of the joys of the Kim Wilde original was the chorus of “we’re the kids in America” being sung in such obviously broad London accents. The joy of Lawnmower Deth’s 1991 cover version is that is is done straight-faced, which makes the end result even more wonderful. Although they split in 1993, they seem to have reformed a couple of years ago.

Lawnmower Deth – Kids In America

Buy product

http://www.myspace.com/lawnmowerdeth

~ by acidted on September 25, 2010.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.