KEEPINGITPEEL: WEATHERALL MONDAY

This blog is keepingitpeel. It’s all about commemorating the memory of the most important DJ from the UK on the anniversary of his untimely death at the age of 65 back in 2004. My thanks to Webbie of Football and Music for organising the day. Meanwhile, Drew has been running an excellent series on the countdown to today. To keep things going, I’m going to have a week of keepingitpeel posts. Drew featured mostly the indie and punk stuff for which Peel was famed. My series is going to feature dance acts, for whom Peel was less known but nevertheless important.

First up, as it’s a Monday, Weatherall, with the only session Sabres recorded for Peel. Broadcast on 25 March 1995 (recorded 13 March 1995). This features the track Stanshall’s Lament, for Viv Stanshall who had died days before the session was recorded. The Peel wiki quotes Peel saying:

JP: ‘I went to a memorial service for Viv (Stanshall) during the week in Soho Square. As you might imagine, it was a melancholy affair, but it did have its moments. For example, it was more religious than I imagined it would be. It never occurred to me that Viv was Catholic, or indeed that he was anything, so it was quite a Catholic event. We were invited in the course of the service to sing four hymns, but were not provided with any hymnbooks, so the chap who was standing alongside me hummed them in a loud and confident manner, but I couldn’t do that, and nor could most of the other people. But a nice touch, I felt.’

But I’m featuring the last track of the session and of that evening’s programme, of which Peel said ‘A good way to say goodnight, brothers and sisters.’

Sabres of Paradise – Duke of Berwick Street (from the late-lamented Ripped In Glasgow)

Buy product

~ by acidted on October 25, 2010.

7 Responses to “KEEPINGITPEEL: WEATHERALL MONDAY”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by ACID TED, Liquid Fridge. Liquid Fridge said: Oct 25, Keeping It Peel day RT @Ctel: KEEPINGITPEEL: WEATHERALL MONDAY: http://t.co/hydLO7U #keepingitpeel […]

  2. […] death at the age of 65 back in 2004. My thanks to Webbie of Football and Music for organising Read more October 25th, 2010 | Category: […]

  3. Thank you for reviving Acid Ted and for Keeping It Peel.
    You are one of my regular reads now.

  4. […] – The above did a countdown, but Acid Ted is starting a Keeping It Peel themed week and the first entry is the Sabres of Paradise. […]

  5. Glad I didn’t pick that one!!

  6. Excellent choice, I must have misssed this when Moggieboy posted it.

  7. […] This blog is keepingitpeel. It’s all about commemorating the memory of the most important DJ from the UK on the anniversary of his untimely death at the age of 65 back in 2004. My thanks to Webbie of Football and Music for organising Read more […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.