FOR SWISS ADAM

Like it says, this post is for Swss Adam and his family. His son has had many operations and is undergoing surgery again today. This time for a cochlea implant. See his posting here.

This has resonance for me because of my own circumstance but it was this bit that really got me – I remember it so sickeningly well:

The Hardest Walk? It might not be the absolute hardest, but the walk from ward to operating theatre with a child who doesn’t want to go and is increasingly anxious, hates being anaesthetised and can’t fully understand what’s happening is far from the easiest walk, and neither is the walk out of the theatre afterwards leaving the anaesthetised boy behind who was kicking and screaming seconds earlier. No matter how many times I’ve done it, and it’s over thirty now, it gets no easier.

And REM was always my pre- and post-op music. So, here’s a track from them with my best wishes:

REM – Walk Unafraid (Black Session, Paris (07.05.01))

Weatherall Monday is suspended this week and will return next week.

~ by acidted on January 31, 2011.

2 Responses to “FOR SWISS ADAM”

  1. Thoughtful post Ctel, I’m sure it will be appreciated.

  2. Thanks Ctel, it means a lot. *wells up*.
    Op lengthy but gone well, just been discharged.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.