“All Your Pretty Fates (Q-Burns Abstract Message Re-Edit of Scott Hardkiss Remix)” by The Veda Rays

I’m troubled. Deeply troubled. Gavin Hardkiss as God Within has produced some quite brilliant music. Q-Burns Abstract Message produced some lovely offbeat dance music in the 90s and some excellent Balearic remixes more recently. And they’re together for a remix. This should be fantastic… but I just don’t like it. Worse. It’s dull. But I can’t quite put my finger on why. Am I missing something?

Blurb: After his acclaimed binary star-studded album Technicolor Dreamer and its epic intergalactic remixes, Scott Hardkiss introduces a new collaboration through his God Within label. It’s with buzzing Brooklyn-based indie-rock band The Veda Rays, an artsy, psychedelic noise pop quartet that, like Scott, are aiming far beyond this solar system. Scott originally bonded with the band’s drummer, engineer and mixer Jason Gates who, as a “brother in rhythm” also fascinated with music technology both archaic and futuristic, was enlisted to work on Technicolor Dreamer. “All Your Pretty Fates,” the lead track from The Veda Rays’ debut Gamma Rays Galaxy Rays Veda Rays, was chosen as the cut to get the full-on Scott Hardkiss treatment. The Veda Rays happily submitted to this treatment and the result is a hypnotic groover that showcases the band’s sublime vocals (courtesy of lead-singer James Stark) and instrumentation alongside Scott’s cutting-edge beats, arrangement and synthesized whiz-bang. The remix, found here in Vocal, Instrumental and Acapella versions, is a dreamy, Balearic, indie-dance delight guaranteed to mesmerize any interplanetary rave-up or cosmic disco. As an added bonus, Q-Burns Abstract Message saunters in from his Eighth Dimension to unveil a stunning Re-Edit of Scott’s mix that steps on the cosmic gas pedal for even more shimmery shoegaze-tronica.

Label and Artist Links:
www.thevedarays.com
Scott Hardkiss
www.q-burnsabstractmessage.com

~ by acidted on February 11, 2012.

8 Responses to ““All Your Pretty Fates (Q-Burns Abstract Message Re-Edit of Scott Hardkiss Remix)” by The Veda Rays”

  1. Dunno. In my increasingly humble opinion I think you might be missing something. I had the vocal refrain I used stuck in my head since I first heard Scott’s mix, which is why I volunteered to do an edit that built up to it. I’m loving it, but can certainly understand the axiom of ‘to each his own.’ Perhaps it’ll be a grower. Thanks, as always, for the mention, tho 🙂

  2. Oh – and Gavin Hardkiss = Hawke, Scott Hardkiss = God Within (and Robbie Hardkiss = Little Wing, just in case … )

  3. Eeek. Feedback from the artist.

  4. i’m with you Ctel on this, couldn’t hold my attention a bit souless for me but what do I know. In danger of becoming Colin here it’s a bit meh.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.