Tracks of my year: January

image

As ever, I’m simply not organised enough to sort through an end of year list. Bagging Area  and Across The Kitchen Table show how it should be done properly. Instead, here are a couple of the best tracks I posted in January.

A delight this year has been We Are Tall Order, who have produced some of the best techno / prog house crossover, of which Identity was a real winner.

I said “Identity starts as a chugging house track but after 1.30 you notice your heads nodding at the classy 90s-style dark techno sounds and the evil way the synthy bassline has wormed its evil way into your unsuspecting heart. This is club music at its best.”

A close second was a remix from Richard Norris (aka Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve) for Black Rivers, of which I said “No idea what the original is like but this a classic bit of BTWS remixing. Everything’s delicately spun out between the guitar and vocal into gorgeous psychedelic dance.”

~ by acidted on December 27, 2015.

One Response to “Tracks of my year: January”

  1. I’d forgotten about the Black Rivers remix. Lovely.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.