Tracks of my year: July

image

Turns out July was about Phonic Scoupe. Here are two remixes from this rather interesting Lithuanian duo, including one for the Chemical Brothers.

First, a remix for DJ MA2 of which I said “What got me into them was a remix they did for DJ MA2’s forthcoming Waiting For You. The originals and the plethora of remixes that accompany this release were all a bit dull, in the way that tech house can be. This remix stood out by taking the original on a techno trip.”

And the remix for Chemical Brothers of which I said “The original, from their new album Born In The Echoes, has that buzzing sound, so characteristic of their stuff. The remix takes a more techno approach, with a fuller sound to the bass. But it isn’t a cheap 4/4 addition, this keeps it to a melodic techno approach. Am I allowed to say I prefer this to the original?”

~ by acidted on December 29, 2015.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.