“I made this track because I hadn’t ever met my dad.” Amy Gibbon #techno #idm

Music expresses mood but all too often in dance music the mood is either party, party or sad, sad. Broad sweeps of hope and despair. They don’t often deal with the more subtle shades of grey of human emotion. On dad, Punch Cards (Amy Gibbon) takes a techno IDM track to deal with finding her father.

Amy says “I made this track because I hadn’t ever met my dad, and during the making of my new album I was trying to track him down.” She adds “it’s supposed to express my feelings towards my father, who I had never met and who I knew basically nothing about. I have since met him once and he’s a pretty nice guy.” which is a relief and you hope things wor out there. That gives me a dilema. One can read too much into a tune with the knowledge on what lies behind, so let’s talk about it as a track alone.

The track is cracked, hissing IDM in its opening before softer ethereal chords come in. There’s a sense of wobbliness throughout and the contrast between the IDM and the more ethereal moments reminded me a lot of Amber-era Authechre. Delightful.

Taken from the album espers.

~ by acidted on January 15, 2018.

2 Responses to ““I made this track because I hadn’t ever met my dad.” Amy Gibbon #techno #idm”

  1. […] return from Punch Cards (Amy Gibbon) but stylistically different. Last time was hissing IDM, this time ambient drum and bass, albeit […]

  2. […] Cards is back causing confusion. That’s because this is Amy Gibbon and she’s chosen to call her new […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.